2 thoughts on “Abbey Road

  1. https://www.vintag.es/2023/11/paul-cole-mystery-man.html#google_vignette

    Paul Cole was the guy in the background watching the photo shoot:

    In a 2004 interview with the Daily Mirror, Mr Cole said he was standing on the street waiting for his wife to finish exploring a museum.

    “‘I’ve seen enough museums. I’ll just stay out here and see what’s going on outside’,” he recalled telling her. “I like to just start talking with people. I walked out, and that cop was sitting there in that police car. I just started carrying on a conversation with him.”

    “I just happened to look up, and I saw those guys walking across the street like a line of ducks,” Mr Cole said. “A bunch of kooks, I called them, because they were rather radical-looking at that time. You didn’t walk around in London barefoot.”

    What is almost as astonishing is Mr Cole, aka photo bombing professional, had no idea who they were until six months later when he was back home in America.

    “My wife used to play the organ and a couple wanted her to play a song off the album at their wedding,” he said. “I saw the album and I recognized myself right away. I had a new sports jacket on and I’d just bought new shell-rimmed glasses. I said to my children, ‘get a magnifying glass out and you’ll see me’.”

    Like

Leave a comment